800-558-6887
Everyday Free Shipping!* Learn More
* For destinations within the contiguous US, orders totaling $59 or more (before tax) ship free and orders below $59 ship for $5.99. For other destinations, shipping is calculated at checkout. 3-5 day free shipping can be upgraded for faster delivery. Multiple shipping addresses count separately.

Kosher

Nuts.com Knows Noshing

You can trust our family to delight yours! We are proud to carry a huge selection of kosher products - in fact the vast majority of our catalog is certified kosher, with rabbinical supervision by OK. In our hearts and in our facilities, we take kashrut very seriously - we're a leader in the kosher nut and fruit business! Please don't hesitate to contact us with questions at CustomerService@Nuts.com or 800-558-6887.

All the kosher items on our website feature hechshers that look like this: and this:

Shabbat comes every week, and it's a great time to share our special trays and snacks with your community - plus, check out our full holiday calendar. Click here for sweet inspiration on gift-giving, and here for information on kosher shiva platters.


Definition of Kosher Foods
What does kosher mean? Foods that are considered kosher meet certain important criteria of Jewish law. Some kosher certification rules include the way the food was processed, the utensils used during production, and the type of food. Kosher foods are broken down into 3 categories: dairy, meat, and parve.

Meaning of Kosher Dairy
Kosher products that contain milk and/or milk derived products are considered to be kosher dairy. For instance, items from Nuts.com that contain milk chocolate are kosher dairy.

Sometimes, products that do not directly contain milk products are also considered kosher dairy. For example, our honey cashews and honey peanuts are considered dairy. Why? They don't directly contain milk products. It's because they are produced using the same equipment that has been used to produce items that do contain milk. Therefore, they are considered kosher dairy as well.

When you are shopping for kosher gifts or platters for your own home, we recommend that you consider carefully whether to select dairy or parve items. Jewish tradition holds that one must wait to consume dairy products after eating meat. Different communities hold to different standards - right away as long as the mouth is cleansed, 1 to 3 hours, or 6 hours of waiting time. If you are unsure, you are always safe giving a gift of parve items!

Meaning of Kosher Parve
The Hebrew word parve comes from the Yiddush word pareve which means neutral. All kosher items that are not considered dairy or meat are parve. This includes all fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, and kosher fish. Parve items may be consumed freely with kosher milk or meat products. All of the dried fruit and raw nuts both in and out of the shell from Nuts.com are parve. All roasted nuts and seeds from Nuts.com are also considered parve, except for our imported Turkish pistachios. Unprocessed grains, beans, and spices from Nuts.com are also parve.

Kosher Meat
There are many different rules when it comes to kosher meats. According to Jewish law, mammals that have cloven hooves and chew their own cud are considered kosher. There are four exceptions. The camel, hyrax and hare are not considered kosher because they chew their cud, but do not have cloven hooves. The pig is not considered kosher because it has cloven hooves and it does not chew its own cud. In addition, all kosher mammals are considered to be even-toed ungulates and herbivores.

Of course, at Nuts.com we don't sell meat, so not too much to worry about on this front.

Non-Kosher
Some items, while considered kosher under the sense of Jewish law, are not certified kosher. Different kosher certifying agencies have different rules when considering a processed item kosher. While one kosher organization might consider chocolate peanuts kosher dairy, another kosher agency may not agree. (The kosher agency may not approve of the way that processing plant is inspected or the manner in which the item is produced.) In instances such as these, consumption of the product should be based upon the individual's acceptance of that particular hechsher (kosher symbol). Some of our chocolates and candies - while containing no obviously unkosher ingredients - are not approved by our certifying agency, OK, and therefore, we cannot label them as kosher.

Kosher Gifts & Gift Baskets
The Nuts.com family understands the need and demand for kosher gifts for Jewish holidays, observances and special occasions. We have a variety of kosher tins, kosher trays, and kosher gift baskets that make beautiful gifts. Please keep in mind, that when a tray or tin contains mostly all parve products such as natural nuts, but happens to also contain a dairy product, the entire tin or tray is considered dairy. Even if the item were in its own separate compartment in the tray, the entire gift tray would still be considered dairy. Likewise, any tray or tin that contains kosher items with non-kosher items cannot be considered kosher. Even if the items are separated in compartments in a tray or tin and are not touching, the items would still be considered non-kosher. If you have questions about our kosher products, we encourage you to contact us.



Jewish Holidays 2016 2017
Tu B'Shevat January 24th February 10th
Purim March 23rd March 11th
Pesach April 22nd April 10th
Yom HaAtzma'ut May 11th May 6th
Lag Ba'Omer May 25th May 13th
Yom Yerushalayim June 5th May 23rd
Shavuot June 11th May 30th
Tisha B'Av August 13th July 31st
Rosh Hashanah October 2nd September 20th
Yom Kippur September 23rd October 11th
Sukkot / Shmini Atzeret October 16th October 4th
Simchat Torah October 24th October 12th
Chanukah December 24th December 12th

Note: Holidays begin the day before, at sunset.

Sign up for our newsletter